Tag Archives : ya books

A River of Royal Blood by Amanda Joy


Our friend Courtney joins us to chat about A River of Royal Blood by Amanda Joy. It’s perfect for fans of Children of Blood and Bone or Three Dark Crowns! (Transcript) In today’s episode…   A River of Royal Blood tells the story of two rival princesses, Eva and Isadore, in a land of magic and mystery. Eva, our POV…

Learn More »

Creating an Inclusive Classroom Library


Books can be both mirrors, reflecting students’ lives, or windows into the lives of others. You know the value of creating an inclusive classroom library, but maybe you’re not sure how to start. Our guest today is Dr. Sheila Frye from Teaching Literacy. She’ll share practical tips for auditing what you have, making informed purchasing choices, and thinking critically about…

Learn More »

The Stars and the Blackness Between Them by Junauda Petrus feat. L. Sam Smith


Writer & teacher L. Samantha Smith joins us to chat about The Stars and the Blackness Between Them by Junauda Petrus, a lush, split perspective YA debut. (Transcript)     In today’s episode… The Stars and the Blackness Between Them follows two girls, Audre and Mabel. Audre has just been sent to Minnesota from her home in Trinidad after her…

Learn More »

Pet by Akwaeke Emezi feat. H.D. Hunter


This week we’re chatting about Pet by Akwaeke Emezi. Our guest is author H.D. Hunter who has some great insight into this totally unique YA new release. (Transcript)     In today’s episode… Pet by Akwaeke Emezi The people in the town of Lucille know that there are no monsters anymore – not since the angels came and took them…

Learn More »

The Revolution of Birdie Randolph by Brandy Colbert feat. Nikea JaLynn


BookTuber, Nikea JaLynn (cohost of the series #BlackGirlLit), joins us to chat about The Revolution of Birdie Randolph by Brandy Colbert. (Transcript)   In today’s episode… The Revolution of Birdie Randolph by Brandy Colbert Dove “Birdie” Randolph has tried hard to live up to her parents’ expectations: she’s at the top of her class, she works hard, and she even…

Learn More »

Short Stories for High School – YA Anthologies


Are you teaching short stories for high school, and all you have is a dusty anthology of “classic” stories? An easy way to engage students in the form is to incorporate YA short story anthologies! These collections help students discover new authors and genres they can continue to enjoy throughout their lives.     We’ve got some great recommendations of…

Learn More »

The Downstairs Girl by Stacey Lee


Stacey Lee does it again! The Downstairs Girl is exactly the kind of historical fiction we need right now. We loved it, and your students will too. (Transcript)         In today’s episode… The Downstairs Girl by Stacey Lee Being a Chinese American teenager in late 19th century Atlanta isn’t easy, but Jo Kwan has made a life…

Learn More »

Spin the Dawn by Elizabeth Lim feat. Maura Milan


Project Runway meets Mulan in the new YA fantasy novel Spin the Dawn by Elizabeth Lim. Joining us to chat is author and filmmaker, Maura Milan. (Transcript)   In today’s episode…   In Spin the Dawn, Maia Tamarin wants to be the best tailor in the land but can’t even officially apprentice as a girl. Her brothers have gone off…

Learn More »
Wicked Fox & more: Asian American author spotlight

Asian American YA Authors and Protags


How many Asian American YA novels do you have in your classroom library? We recently read Wicked Fox, a new YA urban fantasy by Kat Cho, and we wanted to collect some of our favorite Asian American YA authors and protags to share.     According to a study done by Creative Commons, only 7% of children’s and YA books…

Learn More »

More Diverse YA Novels from the YA Cafe Podcast


From the 17th Century adventures in Lady’s Guide, to the dystopian future predicted in Internment, this list has a book recommendation for every student. Make sure you are subscribed to the podcast so you don’t miss all the great books and guests we have lined up for our next season! 🙂 And if you aren’t already caught up, you can…

Learn More »